Matador Records Announce New Belle & Sebastian Compilation

Matador records have announced the August 27th US release of Third Eye Centre, a “compilation of B-sides, rarities, and non-LP tracks from the last decade.”

As a fan, but also a natural skeptic, I welcome this release with cautious optimism. B&S have proven capable of making some of the prettiest and most interesting pop music since The Zombies, yet they have also been known to be a little hit or miss — a fair chunk of Fold Your Hands and the lion share of Write About Love are exhibits A and B — and in my experience “rarities” can often mean half-baked material tossed aside for good reason. But let’s hope for the best! Like I said, I am a major fan (since way back to Arab Strap) and I will likely be shelling out for the “gatefold double LP.”

Track list (courtesy of Pitchfork):

The Third Eye Centre:
01 I’m a Cuckoo (Avalanches Remix)
02 Suicide Girl
03 Love on the March
04 Last Trip
05 Your Secrets
06 Your Cover’s Blown (Miaoux Miaoux Remix)
07 I Took a Long Hard Look
08 Heaven in the Afternoon
09 Long Black Scarf
10 The Eighth Station of the Cross Kebab House
11 I Didn’t See it Coming (Richard X Mix)
12 (I Believe in) Travellin’ Light
13 Stop, Look and Listen
14 Passion Fruit
15 Desperation Made a Fool of Me
16 Blue Eyes of a Millionaire
17 Mr. Richard
18 Meat and Potatoes
19 The Life Pursuit